Challenge Cup of Asia


Challenge Cup of Asia

In 2018 ten countries will be represented in the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program at different levels with Korea, Kazakhstan, Japan, China, DPR Korea, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait and Turkmenistan.

The IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia gives Asian countries that are not in the World Championship program, or that play in the lowest division, a chance to compete. It shall also help develop hockey in Asia and help rank the Asian teams in view of the seeding for the Asian Winter Games.

The first edition of the event was held in 2008 with six teams in Hong Kong, followed by the eight-team event in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, in 2009. The year after a nine teams participated in the event in Chinese Taipei. 2012 marked the first ever event held in India, in the city of Dehradun.

In 2013 a record number of ten teams came to Bangkok in the first IIHF tournament ever held in Thailand and the same number of nations will participated in 2014. Oman joined the competition in 2015 and Qatar in 2016 to grow the number of active Asian nations to 18. In 2017 Turkmenistan and the Philippines played for the first time.


Tournaments in the 2017/2018 season:

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia
In Manila, Philippines, 3-8 April 2018
Participants: Mongolia, Thailand, Singapore, Kuwait, Philippines

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia Division I
In Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 24-30 March 2018
Participants: Malaysia, India, Oman, Macau, Qatar, Indonesia

© 2017 All Rights Reseverd